PDA

View Full Version : O&G v Skaven, give me your tricks!

Tayrod
07-09-2011, 09:04
This summer I started painting a new O&G army, and this weekend Im brining it up against my friends Skaven. This will be my first time playing O&G and in order to make the match more intresting (and fluffy) we're going to try to get in as many sneaky tricks as possible. Therfore, dear warseer, I'd like you to contribute with your sneakiest dirtiest tricks, to help me beat those pesky rats!

So Im not just looking for "Savage orc big ones with add. choppa and shruken head talisman is great vs t3 troops" - Those ones I can figure out for myself.
Give me instead weird and wonderfull magic item combinations, spellcomboes, deployment tactics, how to confuse the hell out of the HPA, etc!

Go nuts, warseer!

Malorian
07-09-2011, 14:37
Yeah... you aren't going to confuse a HPA... hell you can't even sneak around it.

In skaven vs greenskin games you are truely talking about horde against horde, and your battle will most likely span the entire table.

The key things to do are to pick your fights and target enemy weaknesses.
-make sure you have ranked up night goblins to counter the ranked up slaves
-make sure you have a little bit of shooting or magic missiles to take out weapon teams
-make sure you have the flaming banner to take out the HPA
-and then make sure to get stuck in and kill before their shooting and magic rip you apart.

Some things to look out for:
-dreaded 13th is nasty against bunkers, so don't think your characters will be safe in a min sized unit behind your lines
-monks w/ the reroll everything banner will stand up to the best of your units

Tricks you can use:
-His key characters will be in a bunker in the back. Smash it with foot of gork a few times and watch him take him panic test on a LD not backed up by ranks.
-Gobspit and his spiders might be your best bet to get around his lines and into his bunker other than a powered up hand of gork.

russellmoo