PDA

View Full Version : A story on tournament "must-haves" and table psychology

IcedCrow
08-09-2011, 17:17
Related to another thread on "do I have to take a level 4 wizard or else will I get tabled?"

Last night after my soccer game (I play indoor soccer) I was thinking about warhammer as some of the guys on the team also play with me, and I got to thinking of this "gotta have or else will get pwned" mentality and I realized that this mentality has run pretty wild since I started playing in the 90s.

Some background, from 1999-2006 I was a fairly hardcore tournament / competitive player. My local meta pretty much only supported that playstyle as getting campaigns was difficult. In my area you either were playing in a competitive tournament or league, or else you were practicing for a tournament or league.

I won my first tournament in 99, it was 5th edition fantasy and I had been fielding Chaos.

6th edition was a fun time for the hobby as the game moved from heroes to units. It was also during this time that I mastered the art of stacking the deck in my favor as well as taking advantage of some loop holes. My armies of choice were the Vampire Counts (fear autobreak for the tactical win!!!) and chaos.

Overall I have three golden griffons, and four tournament plaques for overall winner hanging on my wall as well as a large host of best painted plaques (some on my wall, most in a box in my garage now)

Toward the end of my tournament career I had begun doing the big tournaments in Chicago as well as the placer events for the Indy GTs which were very popular back in 2005-2006. They may still be but I stopped paying attention after.

My last big tournament was an 85 player fantasy tournament which was a placer event for an Indy GT held in Arkansas I believe. The placer was held in a hotel in Indiana.