PDA

View Full Version : Horde formations and sprears



semper_fi
12-09-2011, 09:15
hey all,

was just wondering after playing a game last night;

if i have a unit of 40 skeletons in horde formation (4x10) which gives me 3 ranks to attack, do i get the fourth also for my sprears?

or

do i just have the 3 ranks to attack

Tayrod
12-09-2011, 09:25
Four ranks will get to attack, as long as you're not charging.

T10
12-09-2011, 10:59
For reference: I believe this is all in accordance with the rules for supporting attacks, horde formations and the Fight In Extra Ranks special rule.

semper_fi
12-09-2011, 12:00
yup but couldnt find the entry about it....

Voss
12-09-2011, 14:36
Its at the begining of that section: unless explicitly stated otherwise, special rules stack.
So horde + fight in extra ranks stack, as does frenzy and additional hand weapon.

Mr_Rose
12-09-2011, 15:11
Its at the begining of that section: unless explicitly stated otherwise, special rules stack.
So horde + fight in extra ranks stack, as does frenzy and additional hand weapon.
No they don't. Or, rather, the answer to the question is right but your reasoning is not. Observe the Errata:

Page 66 – Special Rules, What Special Rules Does It Have
Change “[...]the effects of multiple special rules[...]” to
“[...]the effects of different special rules[...]”Add “However,
unless otherwise stated, a model gains no additional benefit
from having the same special rule multiple times.” to the end of
the first paragraph.

Page 69 – Extra Attack
Add “Unlike most special rules, the effects of multiple Extra
Attack special rules are cumulative.”

Page 69 – Fight In Extra Ranks
Add “Unlike most special rules, the effects of multiple Fight
In Extra Ranks special rules are cumulative.”