PDA

View Full Version : SW company markings and terminator shoulder pads...

MJRyder
24-09-2011, 09:50
I've been collecting 40k for well over 10 years now, and while I had some terminators in my very early (noob) days, I never painted them properly and ended up ebaying them off a couple of years back.

To make up for this lack of one of 40k's most iconic units, I recently decided I would collect a Space Wolf 'Logan Wing' army to make up for all those years in the dark. I don't get much time to paint these days, so it's taken me a while to get a couple of models ready for transfer application and I stumbled across an almighty problem in my plans on building a force of terminator-goodness -- shoulder transfers.

I must say it never occurred to me that the SW basic transfer sprue is distinctly lacking in white transfer to go on black shoulder pads, and is also notably lacking in 1st company transfers. Thankfully FW sell a SW transfer sheet, so I ordered one of these (at great expense!), and then encountered further stumbling blocks: the sheet only comes with x5 termy transfers for each company. At 10 a sheet, I'm certainly not going to buy another one so I plan on using the smaller (and reversed) normal SM shoulder pad transfers instead.

My questions then, fellow warseerites, are as follows:

Why, when every other unit in a SM army has chapter (or in SW case, company) markings on their left side, do terminators have it on the opposite shoulder? Surely it would make more sense to have the crux terminatus on the right shoulder?