PDA

View Full Version : IG or CSM

Deaceased
24-09-2011, 19:41
Ok, so I've been looking around for a new army to start and I'm torn in between Chaos space marines, or Imperial Guard. I am a fair painter, no Golden Daemon winner by any means but I'm probably one level above table top quality. I've own Vanilla Space Marines, and Dark Eldar, both of which are sitting around 2,000 points. I've gotten second place in a local tourny with my SM, and have yet to lose with my DE so I will humbly say i'm fairly skilled with both my armies.
My list of pros and cons for both IMO:

***If i choose IG i will be converting to a traitor army of some sort***

CSM Pro:
The standard marines look awesome, as do the demons
many opportunities for conversions
Can play an army to any of the four Chaos gods with models dedicated to each god
May get an update in the near future

CSM Con:
The codex has said to not do the range much justice
seemingly few options from what i can see on the GW-site

IG pro:
Amazing model range, though could be difficult to convert
Already a 'solid' codex
Many options (especially for tanks)

IG con:
No codex update on the horizon
Many expensive tanks

Please help and provide feed back, feel free to add to any of my lists, Thank you all

Lord-Gen Bale Chambers
24-09-2011, 21:36
Owning 2 IG armies with an urge and plenty of ideas for at least 3 or 4 more... I would say go IG. Not that I am biased or anything.

Having played IG since 3rd edition, you should never base your decision around the relative power of a codex. That will rise and fall through editions.

I have also had a huge urge to do a traitor guard army using the foregorld Vrak's renegade sprues and a CSM: Wordbearer army to go with it.