PDA

View Full Version : CSM: Question on how you expand your legions (in the context of a possible new dex)

SteelTitan
29-09-2011, 15:33
Hey guys,

I have a question on how you guys expand you CSM army. Let me give you a quick example of my personal situation:

Ive been collecting CSM for about 5 years and have around 4000 points of painted marines. Everything is Death Guard themed with the appropriate colour scheme. I also included a couple of 'neutral' units, such as obliterats, vindicators, and I even use Abaddon (but renamed him) and gave all of these the nurgle scheme. However, I'm tired of the scheme and would like to focus on other legions.

Now, with a new dex on the horizon (if you believe rumours), Im doubting what to do if I expand now. The problem is not in the legion units, such as berzerkers, but rather the more 'neutral' units in the codex. Last week, I bought a Defiler and two predators.

I don't know whether to leave them unpainted, paint them black legion style (which doesn't really have my interest), or go for another legion. However, with a probable MAJOR codex rewrite, the risk of having to repaint stuff (to run it in the legion that you like best in the new dex) is big.

Now that the 'scenario' is a bit clearer, I would like to ask how you deal with your legion expansions :)
How do you decide which units to add to which legion-army? And how does this change now with a possible new dex?

Inquisitor Kallus
29-09-2011, 15:37
Im hesitant on building me Khorne Bezerkers and Terminators using the FW upgrade kits. The reason is because i'm worried that theyll discontinue the sets if GW brings out new plastics. If ive made and painted them then expanding my army will probably look weird because of the different aesthetics

Latro_
29-09-2011, 15:47
I fleet between armies my DG army is 2k have 2k WE 2k IW and have a generic 1.5k army on the go at the minute