PDA

View Full Version : Death Company Dreadnought - Attacks.

bloodyhell
30-09-2011, 01:08
In the codex it says A3(4). Why is the 4 in brackets? I'm still fairly new at the 40K game, so if someone could please explain how the attacks work for this unit I'd be grateful.

I have equipped it with Blood Talons, and I understand that for every unsaved wound I get an additional attack. But how many attacks do I get in the first place? +1 for having two close combat weapons, and +1 for assaulting, right? A friend of mine said they get 7 attacks when they assault, but I can't work out how that works - so either he's mistaken or I'm confused somewhere.

Cheers for any help!!

Konovalev
30-09-2011, 01:15
the attack number in parens is the amount it has including its 2nd close combat arm. So if it loses an arm it goes back to its base attacks which is 3 in the case of A3(4)

Mini77
30-09-2011, 01:42
As Konovalev the extra attack for having two close-combat weapons is included in the statline. A charging Death Co Dread therefore would have 5 attacks taking into account the assault bonus.

bloodyhell
30-09-2011, 07:36
So they don't get an additional +1 for having two close combat weapons, or is that included in the codex. It's not written in for any other unit is all...

Rogzor87
30-09-2011, 07:43
for the 3(4) that Number 4 is the +1 attack for 2 close combat weapons. It doesn't get an additional one ontop of that unless your charging or have sanguinor near it(I think his aura works on it).

Escaflowne_Z
30-09-2011, 08:17
This is a surprisingly tricky thing, since it is not consistent across codexes. In this case, 4 normal, 5 on the charge. Generally speaking, you will add any bonus attacks to what is mentioned on the statline, UNLESS the unit's description says that the bonus was already included. GW codexes sometimes use parentheses to show the included bonuses for stats.

Mojaco
30-09-2011, 08:31