PDA

View Full Version : Skaven Newbie

Orbital
14-04-2006, 05:22
Not only am I new to Warhammer Fantasy, I'm new to my army of choice... which is Skaven. I'm very familiar with 40k, however, and have a *basic* understanding of WHFB, its designers, the ramifications of upcoming 7th ed and other good stuff.

My plans for Skaven are to create the army which allows me to field the maximum number of rats. Simple as that. No one model will get fielded when I can replace him with two or more. Basically, a carpet of rats... the more, the better. That's how I wanna go with Skaven.

If anyone would like to give me some simple advice on what to expect, what to plan for, what I'm going to love, what I'm going to hate, etc... I promise to listen very carefully.

And thanks!

HalfEvil333
14-04-2006, 08:40
Learn to drybrush, simplest way to paint that many rats. Also remember that for maximum numbers, take a unit of slaves for every unit of clanrats. What other tricks were there? Take a BSB. I like to stick him in the back of a unit of slaves. Let them suck up the casaulties while he sits their and keeps the unit from breaking. Learn to spread the leadership bonuses. Although a unit with Ld 10 and reroll break tests is nice, too many rats and too many units will be left in the cold. And one more thing, slaves are desposible. Get them into combat and shoot the ***** out of that combat.

Griefbringer
14-04-2006, 10:55
My plans for Skaven are to create the army which allows me to field the maximum number of rats.

Well, it is possible to field 400+ models in a 2000 point army, if you really want to go that way. Deploying them all on the table would take a while, though.

Sasquatch
14-04-2006, 13:18
The drybrushing tip is going to be a life saver. I'd also highly suggest magnets. I have all my rats mounted with magnets and I store them on metal movement trays. Taking out a whole regiment at a time is a LOT faster.