PDA

View Full Version : Empire tactics versus Orcs and Goblins

scubasteve04
10-10-2011, 18:01
Have a game with against Orcs and Goblins coming up. I am relatively new to the game, and my opponent is pretty experienced. I have also yet to face Orcs and Goblins yet (I have only ever really fought DE, WoC and Dwarves) so I am a little worried. What sort of tactics should Empire use against a competitive Orcs and Goblins army?

Here is my list too:

2500pts
Arch Lector, GW, AoMI, VHS, Holy Relic
Captain, BSB, Full Plate, Enchanted Shield, Dawnstone, Biting Blade
Warrior Priest, Heavy Armor, Shield
Warrior Priest, Heavy Armor, Shield
49 Halberdiers, Full Command
49 Halberdiers, Full Command
38 Greatswords, Full Command
10 Knights, Full Command, Flaming Banner
10 Pistoliers, Musi, Outrider with Repeater Pistol
Mortar
Mortar
Mortar
Cannon
Cannon
Cannon

Oogie boogie boss
10-10-2011, 18:19
It all depends what sort of army he goes for. Very generally (and i'm speaking as an OnG player), i'd advise letting him come to you, using your artillery to whittle down his infantry blocks, try and tar-pit what gets to your lines with your Halbadiers, then counter attack with your Greatswords and Knights. I'd try to use your Pistoliers to either attack his war machines (if he takes any) or to draw his hard hitting units (such as Boar Boys, Trolls, etc) out of position. Or even to draw out his fanatics.
I'd put the Warrior Priests in the Halberdiers for some combat kills, as well as the BSB.
The key thing to remember is to prioritise and concentrate your fire.
Pick the biigest threat/key unit in his army and shoot it till it's dead, fleeing or combat ineffective. Things to focus on will be Black Orcs, Trolls, Savage Orcs, Wyvern mounted general, Giant, Mangler Squigs and Chariots. You should get at least 2, probably three turns of shooting, so make sure to really focus that fire power.