PDA

View Full Version : Lvl 4 Orc shaman, lvl 2 savage Orc shaman?

dagreenmoonboyz
03-11-2011, 12:57
Alright, as a disclaimer I am rather new to the game. I have lately been playing with the idea of taking a lvl 2 savage Orc shaman as a shrunken head mule for my savage orcs and also having a lvl 4 Orc shaman to throw in my black Orc horde as main caster.

Reasonaing: animosity. I have had a couple games now where my savages fail. This not only shuts down my heavy hitters for a turn but also my magic phase. It just seemed to cripple me far too much. Now this maybe that I am not tactically sound enough to make up for this orcy disaster but I digress. Viable? Or idiotic. If someone has a better idea let me know.

Malorian
03-11-2011, 14:40
There is merit to your logic, but how about this:

-You want the shrunken head on your toughest character so that your opponent doesn't just kill the bearer and then leave no bonus to the savages. So a T5 3W great shaman is vastly superior to the T4 2W regular shaman.

-You are already worried about animosity.

-Given the average of 7 magic dice all you relly need is a lvl 4.

So why not put the shrunken head on the great shaman, put him in the savage orcs, and then drop the regular shaman and instead put a black orc big boss in the unit with them? And if you do that might as well give him the silvering steel 2+ armor and make him your bsb so that you are then saving points by not needing a seperate hero.

dagreenmoonboyz
03-11-2011, 15:34
I agree with your point. However then how do you deal with your general and bsb being nearly 10 inches apart in horde formation. ( opposite sides to prevent rape from miscast on bsb) this hurts mobility for your trolls and night gobbos flanking that generals unit.

I tried your suggestion is why I ask. Granted most of my issues came from a stupid treeman who survived 3 full turns against my savages and flanking blorcs with flaming banner.