PDA

View Full Version : Is the Varghulf just a glorified Direwolf ??

Aeron
04-11-2011, 13:40
Howdy, So as the title says - is the Varghulf just a glorified Direwolf now with massive blocks of troops in 8th edition??

I'm just about to pick up my Vargulf because I think the model is pretty awesome but i'm not sure how I would go about using him?

Wouldnt a unit of 10-15 Dire wolves be just as good (or bad as the case may be) but at a much reduced price?

I know there is a new book around the corner and the rules might change but i doubt it personally - GW will have far newer and shinnier models to push towards you with new uber rules :cheese:

Do you think the rules for the Varghulf will be changed/how would you change them??

If he didnt suffer from crumble or could at least regenerate wounds from crumble i'm sure it would help substatially. Apart from that I'm not sure as i'm quite new to warhammer and not played 8th yet! I'd like to here from more astute members on here :)

Many thanks.

Nate.

Mike3791
04-11-2011, 13:50
There is no way to predict what changes it will undergo in the next book, but you can follow the VC rumors thread(or post in there) and may find some clues. Also if you are looking to build an army for now you can check out the VC tactica thread, however in 2 months that will change too lol.

Lathrael
04-11-2011, 14:02
So far, i'm not much satisfied about it's performance. Combined with possibility of losing it in one turn (in a multiple combat), and obviously inability of flank and break a unit itself, and being not much survivable, i won't touch it when i have better choices, like black coach. And too expensive for a warmachine hunter, which is its only valid use, in my opinion.

Edit: Dire wolves aren't much brighter too, and they don't count towards core.

warplock
04-11-2011, 14:02
Wouldnt a unit of 10-15 Dire wolves be just as good (or bad as the case may be) but at a much reduced price?