PDA

View Full Version : Necron Model Options

gdsora
10-11-2011, 07:34
I am still new to 40k, and always wondering about stuff like this.

But how often do models get release that have no options?

For example you have the Necron Overlord and Cryptek.

both rules-wise have tons of options for equipment, but their models have NONE of those options.

I thought WYSIWYG was important in this game, so I was a little off put by the lack of options in the brand new models.

Anyways...is this a common occurrence?

azimaith
10-11-2011, 07:36
Yes it is common.

Also crypteks have a "device" exactly what it does is unknown.

Wishing
10-11-2011, 07:43
The short answer is yes - the standard for GW games is that if you want your models to be WYSIWYG and you want them to be armed with something other than what the stock model comes with, you are expected to convert the model yourself. Conversion and weapon swapping as a practice is very central to the GW hobby. If you don't want to chop up your models, you can choose to either 1) not be WYSIWYG, or 2) limit yourself to only choosing the equipment that is visible on the stock model.

Spiney Norman
10-11-2011, 09:21
I am still new to 40k, and always wondering about stuff like this.

But how often do models get release that have no options?

For example you have the Necron Overlord and Cryptek.

both rules-wise have tons of options for equipment, but their models have NONE of those options.

I thought WYSIWYG was important in this game, so I was a little off put by the lack of options in the brand new models.

Anyways...is this a common occurrence?

In the case of Necrons its not really an issue. Take the overlord for example, other than their stock weapon option (fire-glove, warscythe, staff of light or void blade) no-one knows that their gear is supposed to look like, no-one is going to look at a model and say "aha, that'll be his phase shifter then".