PDA

View Full Version : Modular movement trays

Spaceboy
22-11-2011, 21:33
Hi, I hope this doesn't sound like a stupid question, I've got some modular movement trays to assemble for my vampire units. I'm doing the skellies movement tray, but should I build it as a 5 file, 4 ranks tray, or something else? I saw a game the other day in store and they weren't using any square trays :confused:

I'm fairly new to the rules, but not to collecting the minis.

Punk_in_Drublic
22-11-2011, 22:24
Hey! Before the new vampire book is released, I'd hold off doing any big purchases, as a new armybook can change which units to priorotize and how you would want to deploy them. With a unit like the skellies as they play now, I say you are best served with a minimal frontage (5 wide) and as many tanks as you have minis, 5-6 should do it. Remember that the movement tray is there to fascilitate easy maneuvering of your army, but do not hesitate to reform if it serve you.

Punk_in_Drublic
22-11-2011, 22:25
I mean ranks, not tanks.

Drongol
23-11-2011, 02:41
The best advice I can give you is to plan your army before you start building your trays. Then you'll know exactly what you need and can leave a few empty ranks in case you decide to raise some extra skeletons or ghouls or whatnot.

SotF
23-11-2011, 02:57
And have a few horde ones as well.

But for units, I've always advised on having room for at least 1 extra rank of what you want in the unit, and 2-3 for ones with raising.

The main reason is that if you find you want more in it, then you don't need to mess with it to make it work. The extra space also let's you adjust things on the fly far more easily such as if a character joins thee unit. It also helps to have the extra space when you're moving the unit rather than grabbing the actual models.

And there isn't a penalty to doing so if you inform your opponent about it at the beginning of the game so that he can move through the extra space taken up if he wants to.

Spider-pope