PDA

View Full Version : Dark Elves - Power of Darkness, when to cast?

mortiferum
25-11-2011, 18:33
Assuming a Lvl 4 sorceress armed with the Sacrificial Dagger.

Im relatively new to DE's. In my last game I found myself casting the spell on one dice (sac dagger if required) at every available opportunity, seemed to be a no brainer?

Am I missing something, are there any occassions when you shouldn't cast a Power of Darkness spell?

theunwantedbeing
25-11-2011, 18:40
When you only have power of darkness left?

BlackPawl
25-11-2011, 18:47
If you only roll a 1 or 2 and the level 4 is your only wizard than your magic phase is over before it really begins ...

Dreadlordpaul
25-11-2011, 18:49
I generally use it when im starting to get low on dice and even then I only do it on a dagger dice

sulla
25-11-2011, 18:54
Assuming a lvl4 with the sacrificial dagger, casting single diced power of darkness is always a good tactic once you are down to 8pd (unless you suspect your opponent has the frog scroll)

tmarichards
25-11-2011, 19:26
If you have 2 mages, you can use all but one of the starting power dice on the second mage (for example, casting a big Fireball). Then, with the second mage, you can use that last dice to cast Power of Darkness and get a sort of second magic phase.

Capt._Jaelinek
25-11-2011, 21:28
I think it really depends on the Winds roll. If you roll high you might not even need PoD. If low then you might roll it first to get more dice. Granted there is a risk of snake eyes and the phase is over, but with a low roll it's a crap phase anyway. On more normal phases I tend to cast my spam spells first to use up dispel dice, then PoD and use remaining dice for the important spell. As PoD is only 2-4pd it's nice, but not going to give you six dice for a Mindrazor or something.

That's how I tend to use it anyway.

a18no
26-11-2011, 01:51
How many mages?

Let say one:
a) you roll 10-11-12 on winds, cast one spell then the PoD
b) Got less than 10, start with it.