PDA

View Full Version : Footprint question



Kalandros
07-12-2011, 01:18
[G][G][G][G][G][G][G][G][G][G]
[T][T][T][T][T][T][T][T][T][T]
[T][T][T][T][T][T][T][T][T][T]

Let's say G = 1 goblin hero each, 4 Ts = 1 Troll
Is this a legal formation?
If one goblin dies, one has to be put on the side of the formation, right?


[G][G][G][G][G][G][G][G][T][T][G]
[T][T][T][T][T][T][T][T][T][T]
[T][T][T][T][T][T][T][T]

Or is this illegal because you'd need 4 goblins to match 1 troll? Or is it simply not allowed?

Lorcryst
07-12-2011, 10:27
I don't know if it's legal, but I do know that trolls come on 40x40 mm bases ... so you only need 2 gobboes (on 20x20 mm bases) to have the same frontage as 1 troll ...

Is this an idea to lessen Stupidity by having the Trolls check on the Ld of the goblins ?

Artiee
07-12-2011, 12:58
Its not legal. The goblins dont have a matching foot print with the trolls. The 1 goblin character would go the side. A 2nd goblin character would go to the other side. Since one rank is 1 troll deep, You couldn't get a 3rd goblin in there. Its the goblins joining the Trolls not the Trolls joining the goblins.

Munin
07-12-2011, 13:08
So the footprint rule only applies when a character with a bigger footprint joins a unit with smaller foorprint? And not the other way around as mentioned by OP?

Scalebug
07-12-2011, 14:59
While it would of course not hurt to give those rules a clear-up, they still work on
If a character's footprint does not fit neatly into a unit..., leading to them not necessarily being restricted to characters with larger bases, but also smaller ones.

So, no filling up of a front rank of 20mm characters even if it has the same width as the trolls behind then, simply because they would immediately cease to "fit neatly" if one of them dies or leaves.

(And then you have the whole debate on where the third and subsequent goblin bigboss should go when herding trolls)

theunwantedbeing
07-12-2011, 18:03
Looks legal, but gets messy as soon as a goblin hero gets killed as a troll moves forward into the gap. Ten goblin heroes is also rather expensive, even enough to fill the ranks of just three trolls is fairly pricey.

BEEGfrog
07-12-2011, 21:16
It is entirely legal as far as the base size rule is concerned.

When it comes to rear ranks stepping forward when the gobbo characters die, it is easy and obvious when an even number of gobbos die as enough trolls step forward to fill the space.
With odd numbers of dead gobbos then one gobbo is pushed out sideways as a stepping forward troll makes room for himself (if gobbo is already out to side then he pops back into the front rank, with trolls only stepping forward if more than one gobbo dies).

Artiee
08-12-2011, 12:13
It is legal only by base size.. Its not legal by unit base. you cant get the 3rd goblin hero in there.