PDA

View Full Version : Gnoblar traps and overrunning.



Mister Blak
07-12-2011, 09:12
Under what circumstances exactly do gnoblar trappers get to use their traps? or, more precisely, when does a unit that moves into combat with a unit of gnoblar trappers have to take a difficult terrain test?

is it only when an official charge is declared on them, therefore making traps unusable against random movers? is it technically a charge reaction?

perhaps most importantly, does a unit overrunning into a unit of trappers have to take the dangerous terrain test? if they do, then lines of ten-man trapper units are rather viable, especially against elite enemies without much shooting like WoC (chaos armour isn't much use when you're caught in a beartrap!)

Mr_Rose
07-12-2011, 09:25
If a unit successfully completes a charge. It's not a charge reaction at all, though fleeing will negate the traps.
Regular charges and overruns are both definitely covered as those are definitely charges, and random movers that impact a unit "count as charging" so they should probably take the test.

belgarath97
08-12-2011, 04:13
If a unit successfully completes a charge. It's not a charge reaction at all, though fleeing will negate the traps.
Regular charges and overruns are both definitely covered as those are definitely charges, and random movers that impact a unit "count as charging" so they should probably take the test.

i agree, all of these are successful charges.

ARabidNun
08-12-2011, 08:08
If a unit successfully completes a charge. It's not a charge reaction at all, though fleeing will negate the traps.
Regular charges and overruns are both definitely covered as those are definitely charges, and random movers that impact a unit "count as charging" so they should probably take the test.

By random movers, if you are suggestion units such as fanatics then no, if the rule for Goblers states "chargers, or charge reaction". Units touched by a unit such as fanatics or mangler squigs are not allowed a charge response.

A unit such as a snotling pump wagon or chaos spawn, yes since technically it is a charge, and is more or less random.

Skipschnitz
09-12-2011, 21:29
Fanatics and Manglers don't "charge", so are not affected as their attacks are more like missile attacks. However, like said, any other model or unit that completes a charge to the front of a Gnoblar unit must take a Dangerous Terrain test for each model in the unit. The Gnoblar rule is that any unit, that completes a charge to the front, takes the test. Doesn't mean you have to have declared the charge, or moved into via random movement, overrun, pursuit, or launched...you complete a charge move, you test...skirmishers, striders, whatever. Best "tricksy unit" in the game!