PDA

View Full Version : Warhammer 40k Army Rankings/Tiers

Akaiyou
10-12-2011, 07:48
If we look at the armies objectively...trying as much as possible to remove our own personal bias.
What would be the general consensus on the rankings? or tiers of the current 40k armies?

I've been playing 40k since 2005, enough to know a thing or two but not nearly enough in the hardcore scene to cast a solid opinion on the subject. Yet it comes up every now and then when discussing new codexes and such with my 40k loving friends (the handful of them anyway) We'd very much like to know what the consensus on the subject is.

Things to dismiss:
#1 - Personal Bias
#2 - Tournament results count but consider that those CAN be skewed to favor the 'army of the week' since there would be droves of players using it thus guaranting higher chances of that specific army winning any given tournament. So don't base your entire judgement on it
#3 - One trick ponies. The question is based on the entire army, avoid basing all judgement on just 1 unit that is insanely powerful to judge wether an army in particular is stronger than another.
#4 - If you have nothing to base an opinion on a particular army then just put N/A instead of judging it based on what you've heard/rumors

You can either sort your opinion by rankings or by tiers.
Example:

All 16 Current 40k Armies:
Necrons
Sisters of Battle
Grey Knights
Dark Eldar
Blood Angels
Tyranids
Space Wolves
Imperial Guard
Space Marines
Chaos Daemons
Orks
Chaos Space Marines
Dark Angels
Eldar
Tau Empire
Black Templar

IMO by Rankings
1. Space Wolves
2. Blood Angels
3. Imperial Guard
4. Tyranids
5. Space Marines
6. Necrons
7. Orks
8. Eldar
9. Tau Empire
10. Black Templar
11. Chaos Space Marines
12. Dark Angels
13. Chaos Daemons

Sister of Battle - N/A
Dark Eldar - N/A
Grey Knights - N/A

IMO by Tiers

Tier 1
SW, BA

Tier 2
IG, TY, SM, Necrons, Orks

Tier 3
Eldar

Tier 4
Tau, BT, CSM, DA, CD

N/A
SoB, DE, GK