PDA

View Full Version : 6th Edition Changes Wishlist

CitadelArmyGuy
14-12-2011, 17:57
I haven't seen a thread on this topic, I thought I'd drop my ideas in the pond and see if I get any ripples. These are changes that I'd love to see GW incorporate into 6th Edition (I've been playing 40K for 8 years now, I'm sure the true veterans will have a lot more input to contribute LOL) -- and maybe if the community as a whole starts some ground-swell voicing into things we want then perhaps GW will pick up on it! Probably not... but hey it's a fun mental exercise. Thoughts?

Game Mechanics
•Most or nearly all types of cover currently granting 4+ cover becomes 5+ cover

•Delete old Mission-types. All games use a simple Points-system. Kill Points equal 1 Game-point and Objectives equal 3 Game-points. Three levels of game, each level stacks with the ones below it (So Advanced game has KPs and 5 Objectives).

oSimple Level: Kill Points
oStandard Level: 3 Tactical Objectives (placed pre-deployment anywhere on table)
oAdvanced Level: 2 Flag Objectives (placed during deployment inside zone of each player)•All units may hold objectives

•New game-phase order: Shooting phase, Movement Phase, Assault Phase

•Run changed: D6 for normal units, D3+3 for Fleet Units

•3 Deployment types:

oPitched Battle (Long edges)
oSpearhead (Corner-quarters)

o"Long Diagonal" (as in Apocalypse but strict corner-to-corner)

•Force Commander: If list contains no Named Characters, then one chosen HQ model (note: Model not Unit) gains a free USR (In the presence of Named Characters, a Commander’s natural combat skills are prevented from surfacing because they don’t want to show up their boss, and so they fight conventionally)

•Deep Strike Mishaps: If unit lands on top of friendly units, within 1” of enemy, or in Impassable terrain, always reduce movement until allowed legal placement on table (as in Drop Pods). Then the Unit rolls on Mishap Table:

o1-2: All models take one wound no saves of any kind