PDA

View Full Version : help on finding an army

Pain4life
20-12-2011, 16:39
Hi seers, I need help on finding an army to play my brother, he has been playing salamanders for 6 years and im just starting out, would like to find out what you seers think I would be good with

Corvus Corone
20-12-2011, 16:41
Need a little more info there squire.

For example:
-Do you play for fun or to win, or both?
-Do you like horde or elite armies, or both?
-Do you like a serious minded army, or one that takes a more light hearted approach to combat?
-Shooty or choppy?

The more we know, the better.

Pain4life
20-12-2011, 16:49
I would like to win, but have fun doing it...

I would also like to be able to shoot a little but launch a convincing counter when the time comes...

My brother told me to start at around 1,000 or 1,500 points but im not sure how to get what I want

I like the idea of a small scouting army, that tends to hide in the shadows and make fast, small but crippling strikes

As a wize man once said Strike hard, Strike fast, Strike often

The Death of Reason
20-12-2011, 16:52
Take a look at the GW website, and choose the army whose models you like the best :)

Pain4life
20-12-2011, 16:56
I have had a look on several occasions and unfortunately I cant decide between them, I like the idea of the Imperial guard and how robust the space marines are, I did not take to the Orks

The Death of Reason
20-12-2011, 17:11
How about the bugs, or the eldar variants?

Charistoph
20-12-2011, 17:12
If you had the money, I'd suggest Sisters of Battle.

You MIGHT like Grey Knights as they can mix and match with Space Marines and normal joes, but they tend to be considered a little overpowered...

Corvus Corone
20-12-2011, 17:19
Well, most armies can be maneuverable and pretty fast. For example:

-Orks Warbikers/ speed freeks: A decent balance of shooty choppy if you take trukks of shootas with warbikers (which can be scoring), deffkoptas (decent anti-tank) and buggies.