PDA

View Full Version : Aracnarok and shrine



Grimgormx
03-01-2012, 00:46
What happens when the aracknarok or shamie is killed?

If Aracnarok is killed does the shamie lose the loremaster rule?

If the shamie is killed the shrine effects can be used by other samans?

In mho if the shamie is killed, other samans can use shrine effect (as it is in the spider)

If Spider is killed, shrine effect is lost but no lore master

What do you think?

Tried to search this but couldnt find anything.

T10
03-01-2012, 06:41
If the Arachnarok is killed then the Shrine no longer provides the shaman with the Loremaster special rule. This means the shaman reverts to his own spells. Exactly how you determine which spells that is is pretty much up to the two players to agree upon as the rules provide you with no guidelines what so ever.

You could make roll up a number of random spells as appropriate for the shaman's current level, discounting any spells he may have lost (e.g. due to miscasts) or that may have been "claimed" by other shamans. Sure, this may leave the shaman with fewer spells than normal for his level, but it fits (some-what) into both the gameplay and the regular process for determining spells.

Or you could agree that he keeps all his spells since he knew them at the time when spells were determined.

If the shaman is killed then presumably the shrine will still provide the bonus to any nearby Goblin Shaman.

-T10

Spiney Norman
03-01-2012, 11:25
If the Arachnarok is killed then the Shrine no longer provides the shaman with the Loremaster special rule. This means the shaman reverts to his own spells. Exactly how you determine which spells that is is pretty much up to the two players to agree upon as the rules provide you with no guidelines what so ever.

You could make roll up a number of random spells as appropriate for the shaman's current level, discounting any spells he may have lost (e.g. due to miscasts) or that may have been "claimed" by other shamans. Sure, this may leave the shaman with fewer spells than normal for his level, but it fits (some-what) into both the gameplay and the regular process for determining spells.

Or you could agree that he keeps all his spells since he knew them at the time when spells were determined.

If the shaman is killed then presumably the shrine will still provide the bonus to any nearby Goblin Shaman.

-T10

IMHO a model that has the lore master rule during spell generation does not lose any spells if he loses the loremaster rule later in the game because he has no spells to fall back on. There is absolutely no precedent for generating spells once a game is in progress, and no precedent for losing spells in this way.

This is different if, for example loremaster is gained mid-game by ransacking a wizards tower for example.