PDA

View Full Version : Rule changes?

The Lion's Shade
09-01-2012, 22:03
I am completely new to warhammer fantasy I've decided to collect skaven. My friend gave me his old rule book from the skull pass set I was just wondering if the rules have changed significantly to the old ones or if the old rule book is still playable for the main guidelines.:confused:

Magot
09-01-2012, 22:09
Welcome to the fantasy world my dear Skaven general !

there are so many differences that by fact the 2 versions are not compatible at all.
I would say try to buy a current one via ebay ore the like.

Mr_Rose
09-01-2012, 22:14
Sorry, 7th edition is significantly different to 8th in many respects, both major and minor, such that I think it would be easier to start from scratch with 8e than to learn 7e then try to unlearn all that you would need to to learn 8e properly.

Still if you're starting Skaven, the Island of Blood starter comes with a nice compact 8th edition rulebook and a whole bunch of Skaven to use, so it's probably the recommended way forward.

The Lion's Shade
09-01-2012, 22:49
Just saying generally do you think that skaven is a good starter army.

Mr_Rose
09-01-2012, 22:58
Pretty good, yeah. None of their special rules are especially core-rules-defying (unlike the Undead) and they do use all four phases of the turn so you will be able to get a good feel for the game with them. Also they aren't disastrously underpowered or broken as a result of the new edition, nor is their army book getting revised soon.

T10
10-01-2012, 06:39
Just saying generally do you think that skaven is a good starter army.

The Skaven Errata document is 9 pages long. I'd recommend Orcs & Goblins instead if you just want to keep things simple.

-T10

AMWOOD co
10-01-2012, 12:33
A few suggestions to use the old book for in terms of what is stil the same in rules: