PDA

View Full Version : The WHFB Competitive Environment.

Noobie2k7
16-01-2012, 18:25
I noticed that in here there isn't a thread discussing what armies are the best in a competitive environment. There is a thread for this in the W40K GD but not here and i wondered why. Are there any armies that are distinctly better than others when it comes to tourney play? Or are armies generally even and depend more on player skill than in 40K.

I am new to WHFB and well am still wondering what army to get my claws into and finding it hard to choose. I am certainly not a WAAC player but i don;t really want to get tabled every game either just cause i ended up picking a useless army.

TL;DR: what WHFB armies are the best in a competitive tourney environment? Discuss.

Ctuchik
16-01-2012, 19:17
You won't get an objective answer here, mostly people's opinions. Warhammer (Fantasy and 40k) as a game system is not very suited to true competitive play, but people still atttempt it of course.

The best data available is probably from ETC and rankingshq.

Army rankings from ETC 2011 in Poland is here:
http://www.rankingshq.com/etc/tournamentprofile.aspx?EtcId=3&GameSystemId=2

Full ranking for the UK tournament scene is here (click on army ranking):
http://www.rankingshq.com/rankings/default.aspx?GameSystemId=2&RegionId=9#

How accurate this data is I don't know.

With some digging you can also find the army lists used by all teams in the ETC. Should give you an idea of the standard tournament builds.

Noobie2k7
16-01-2012, 19:24
That's all i wanted from this thread, opinions and debate. I wasn't really after an objective answer as it were, i wanted to know what people thought.

Malorian
16-01-2012, 19:26
Trust me, if you search there have been MANY threads on this issue. Just search for 'tier' and 'army'.

The Low King
16-01-2012, 19:28
I believe that Fantasy is much more balanced than 40k in terms of its armies. The new 8the edition books in paticular seem nicely balanced.