PDA

View Full Version : Corpsecart Unholy Lodestone



JustinDonnelly
16-01-2012, 21:21
The rule reads: When a friendly wizard within 6" of an Unholy lodestone successfully casts IoN, he may re-roll a single D6 to determine how many wounds are restored for each eligible infantry unit.

Am i right in thinking that is for each unit and not just one from the pool of affected units.

DutchJunkie
16-01-2012, 21:30
I was wondering the same thing. But since IoN uses only one D6 per unit in the bubble, then you would be effectively re-rolling all IoN rolls. Doesn't that sound too good to be true?

RealMikeBob
16-01-2012, 21:45
Perhaps the single D6 is referenced for the case of zombies, preventing you rerolling both their dice? It does seem a little too good though if that's the case. I'd play it just one D6 rerolled per casting until it's clarified.

ihavetoomuchminis
16-01-2012, 21:50
Perhaps the single D6 is referenced for the case of zombies, preventing you rerolling both their dice? It does seem a little too good though if that's the case. I'd play it just one D6 rerolled per casting until it's clarified.


It's one dice re-roll per affected unit. It's pretty clear. In the case of zombies, you can re-roll 1 dice of 2, not both.

What i like the most of the lodestone, is that you just need the caster to be in the lodestone range, and then you can re-roll dices for units that are outside the lodestone range.

NitrosOkay
17-01-2012, 00:20
The lodestone is a lot of points and has a 6" range on a unit that can't march, it better be good.

JustinDonnelly
17-01-2012, 13:06
Yes well that was my thinking (that you could roll one per unit) but for 30 points it seems to good to be true. In one spell you can make back more than the cost of the upgrade.

GG roll a 1 for IoN and then reroll using the Lodestone. on a 4+ thats the 30 points back there!!

Well untill GW release the FAQ i will play as it reads :)

Mr_Rose
17-01-2012, 15:03
Huh.
If a necromancer is within 6" of two carts with lodestones and successfully casts Invocation of Nehek on a unit of zombies, can he re-roll both dice (one per cart)?

The Unholy Lodestone rule doesn't appear to have the "one or more" wording of the Balefire rule so I'm not seeing an obvious reason why not...

OldMaster
17-01-2012, 17:15
Huh.
If a necromancer is within 6" of two carts with lodestones and successfully casts Invocation of Nehek on a unit of zombies, can he re-roll both dice (one per cart)?

The Unholy Lodestone rule doesn't appear to have the "one or more" wording of the Balefire rule so I'm not seeing an obvious reason why not...

Yes, you could probably re-roll both dice.
I don't find that weird - it's not really worth a second Corpse Cart with Lodestone.

Mr_Rose
17-01-2012, 21:48
Maybe if you were rolling a gigantic zombie horde led exclusively by necromancers and the odd wight?
Could be an interesting theme.

NitrosOkay
17-01-2012, 21:57
In 2500 points you could literally fill the board with end to end Zombies and just draw every game because no unit on either side will die if you wanted to.


Level 4 Master Necromancer 200

Level 1 Necromancer 65
Level 1 Necromancer 65
Level 1 Necromancer 65
Level 1 Necromancer 65

Corpse Cart with Unholy Lodestone 120
Corpse Cart with Unholy Lodestone 120

100 Zombies 300
100 Zombies 300
100 Zombies 300
100 Zombies 300
100 Zombies 300
100 Zombies 300

2500 points on the dot.

ihavetoomuchminis
17-01-2012, 23:00
Remove some zombies to put some banners in there and you're right.

Does people play the BRB scenarios at all?

Lebowski
18-01-2012, 02:51
Remove some zombies to put some banners in there and you're right.

Does people play the BRB scenarios at all?

well, setting aside watchtower yes.