PDA

View Full Version : Mordheim- quick rule clarification



Verminmistress
23-04-2006, 13:55
Do things that are described as affecting 'possessed' models (e.g. Sigmarite hammers) affect all models in a Cult of the Possessed warband, or just the Possessed model itself?

Velkyn Kyil
23-04-2006, 14:06
I believe these items affect the whole warband, and not just individual units. Otherwise, it would be tough to affect Undead, as there is no unit named such.

Verminmistress
23-04-2006, 15:57
Otherwise, it would be tough to affect Undead, as there is no unit named such.
That's a very good point.

And yeah, that's what I thought. Thanks! :)

TKitch
24-04-2006, 04:54
indeed it does, and it was clarified in a FAQ a while ago.

Inquisitor Konig
24-04-2006, 23:04
what?! no way. only possessed models themselves are affected. not the whole warband. that really makes no sence.

krieg
25-04-2006, 04:05
it is just the specific units, things that effect undead do not effect living memebrs of the warband such as necromancer, dregs and ghouls, with undead it is the units that have the no pain special rule, and with carnival it is just the tainted ones that are effected

TKitch
25-04-2006, 05:19
what?! no way. only possessed models themselves are affected. not the whole warband. that really makes no sence.
not according to GW.

It was in a FAQ that the ENTIRE band if affected. One would assume that CoC would fall the same way.

jullevi
25-04-2006, 10:07
According to Mordheim FAQ in Town Cryer 11, the term "Possessed" means "Magister, The Possessed, Mutants and Darksouls" (but not brethren or beastmen), while "Undead" refers to "The Vampire, Zombies and Direwolves" - the ones that are dead.

calicojack
26-04-2006, 00:52
Holy weapon differentiates as "Possessed or Undead models" in its write-up, whereas higher up, Righteous Fury works on "Possessed and Undead warbands," so there is a distinction. Even though it isn't written in the rules.

Note that Mordheim was not written with a "Rules as Written" eye view, and interpretation is _often_ necessary.

Of course, the answer is neither in the _current_ FAQ, nor in the _current_ Living Rulebook. In practice, the hammer [and similar] which specify _models_ means just that - Possessed models [and those Undead warband models which come already equipped with Feel No Pain].

I recommend the following thread, on the Specialist Games forum:
http://www.specialist-games.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=451&SearchTerms=hammer