PDA

View Full Version : Hey guys - complete newbie here

Foxtrick
01-02-2012, 22:58
Hi all,

Well, I'm really new - like really... really new - that I have not even bought anything yet so I hope you will forgive my ignorance(and even posting in the wrong section?) :-)

I went to a Games Workshop for the first time today and was suprised at how friendly and helpful the staff were. I was quite nervous about the fact I'm an older player and that this kind of thing might be for a younger audience but by sounding interested and even excited about something of the things I was being told - no one seemed phased!

Anyway - some of the things I wanted to ask you guys were

a) It was explained I definitely needed a rule book and that the starter set would be awesome (and buying the set in individual parts would come to over 200!). Sounds great - and woefully expensive but I was hoping to just start a small army and go to some of the evening battles. I don't have any friends I can think of that would want to play with me so not sure a starter set would be the best? Plus did I read right that the start set has Elves and Skaven? Not sure if thats my first choice of race to work with. The guy pretty much said its best to just go with what you personally like for style and asthetics- forgetting everything else for the time being.

b) Is the rulebook a needed purchase - even if I go to play just once a week at a GW store? I got the impression there was an awful lot in there and perhaps not just rules?

c) Lizardmen, Warriors of Chaos and some sort of skeletal army - look quite cool - are they popular and do you think they would suit someone completely new to the game?

c) The GW paint set - again seemed really expensive - is it really worth the money? Or can you do just a good a job with other paints and brushes ?

d) Each race has a Codex - what is this for - is it like a general reference for an entire race and its history or is it more about suggested tactics in battle etc?