PDA

View Full Version : Scroll of Mighty Incantations



Sloppyjayman
15-02-2012, 12:47
Hey Guys,

I am very confused at how this item works. I have seen the FAQs but still am puzzled.


Lets say I have a LVL 4 Lore of Death Liche.

I want to cast the vortex at 15+ to cast.

I throw 4 dice plus I get 4 bonus dice.

I know I need to make the casting value with 4 power dice, but do I add the 4 bonus dice values to my casting value for dispel value reasons. Or is the only Bonus of this item the fact that if I get a doubles on the two of the four bonus dice it is IR/MC.

Thanks Guys

gdsora
15-02-2012, 17:15
You would still add the value of the 4 bonus dice to the casting value. The FAQ is trying to explain that the regular power dice need to be above a 3 or else the spell fails regardless.

Them not counting as power dice is similar to how night goblins and their mushrooms are not power dice. Having a difference allows rules that effect power dice, not effect these bonus dice.

Sloppyjayman
15-02-2012, 20:56
And in theory you could roll 10 Dice with a lvl 4....

The doubles that cause the irresistable only count in the 4 bonus dice?

oldWitheredCorpse
15-02-2012, 21:01
And in theory you could roll 10 Dice with a lvl 4....

The doubles that cause the irresistable only count in the 4 bonus dice?

Yes, the "any doubles" part only applies to the bonus dice. Not enough power is only affected by power dice, but only concerns totals of 1 or 2, which means that it never happens if you use 3 or more power dice.