PDA

View Full Version : Help with 'learner games'

burni
11-03-2012, 17:12
I'm looking for a bit of help and advice for running games to help myself and a couple of club mates learn 40k in a fun way.

I won't bore you with the details of my on/off relationship with 40k (you can go here Votha 401st Imperial Guard Plog (http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?286971-Votha-401st-Imperial-Guard) if you are interested though), suffice to say that despite being aware of the hobby for over 20 years, I'm still a complete noob when it comes to playing it! (I've mainly been a collector/painter/fluff follower).

I've tried to find a club to join to help me in my quest to play over the years and although all have been really friendly, there's always been something (a bit too far to travel on a weeknight, only meet once a month, lost their venue and closed...) Now I've found one that really works for me with just one tiny problem - no one plays 40k there... (it's a big and well established club but they play FoW and historic stuff mainly).

There's a couple of guys who are interested in playing though but it's a bit like the blind leading the blind :D

A few of them have some older 40k miniatures and I have about 1500 points of Guard (a bit mech heavy tho) and 1400 points of Orks all painted up and ready to go. I could also put together 1000-1500 pts of Marines too I think.

What I'm looking for help for is coming up with a type or size of game that helps teach the rules to us while not being a boring 'look everything up' fest, so the game keeps moving at a decent pace and we can all have a fun evening. We've tried a couple of games with the Guard and Orks but it was basically 3 turns of Orks just moving forward and being shot at by static guard followed by 1 turn of CC were the Orks killed everything. I purposefully cut down the amount of special rules to make it a bit simpler - bad idea?