PDA

View Full Version : flaming sword of rhuin



Lance Tankmen
13-03-2012, 05:13
i can cast this spell on a cannon for auto wounds correct?

Georgebob
13-03-2012, 07:05
a roll of a 1 is always a fail to wound and a roll of a 6 always wounds....

Yamabushi
13-03-2012, 07:38
Yes, you can.

page 6 of the latest BRB FAQ (v1.5)

Q: Does a To Wound roll of a 1 always fail to Wound? (p42, 51)
A: No. Though it is very rare for a model to be able to Wound
on a 1+

So, if you are already wounding on a 2+, and somehow you do get a +1 to wound, then you would be auto wounding, as a roll of 1 is not a failure to wound

Lance Tankmen
13-03-2012, 08:05
kk just wanted to know can i buff a cannon with the spell or does it affect the crew only?

Yamabushi
13-03-2012, 12:28
It affects both, as the crew and cannon are counted as a single model (although the crew acts a wound markers for most of the time).

Georgebob
13-03-2012, 14:09
soooo in any case where you would wound on a 2+ and you have flaming sword then you autowound?

Tuttivillus
13-03-2012, 14:26
soooo in any case where you would wound on a 2+ and you have flaming sword then you autowound?

Yes, that is correct.

Harwammer
15-03-2012, 11:20
a roll of a 1 is always a fail to wound and a roll of a 6 always wounds....

You're forgeting a roll includes modifiers. A natural 1 with a +1 modifier is a roll of 1+1=2. Read the rules for 'natural dice rolls', I think it is brb page ten in the left column.


soooo in any case where you would wound on a 2+ and you have flaming sword then you autowound?

Not if you're also subject to a negative modifier on the to wound roll.

T10
15-03-2012, 12:14
soooo in any case where you would wound on a 2+ and you have flaming sword then you autowound?


Yes, that is correct.



Not if you're also subject to a negative modifier on the to wound roll.

Thank you, Harwammer. I almost missed that Georgebob did not specify all other possible conditions in the universe that might apply in addition to his scenario. Tuttivillus should be ashamed for falling into such an obvious trap.

-T10

SaltGut
15-03-2012, 15:09
I feel like this question comes up at least once a month and the first three posts are always the same.

Tuttivillus
15-03-2012, 19:10
:angel: No shame here, No other modifiers were mentioned.

mistrmoon
19-03-2012, 04:30
Also keep in mind the reverse is true, wounding on a 6+ with a -1 means you autofail at wounding, see K'dai destroyers. (Thanks FW!)