PDA

View Full Version : Caskets of souls leadership test.



Mike45
15-03-2012, 09:24
Can i use my generals leadership when rolling for the caskets of souls spell? Also, can the dwarf's spelleater rune make the casket forget its spell?

oldWitheredCorpse
15-03-2012, 09:48
All modifiers apply to the "3D6 leadership test" that the light of death is with the current rules. I don't know about the spelleater rune, TBH.

NTJ2010
15-03-2012, 13:28
I don't believe so, but the only basis I can find in the books and FAQs (on quick look so I could have missed it) is for the spelleater rune it specifically says that "the enemy spell is lost to the wizard casting it" and I don't believe there's anything about the casket of souls that makes it a wizard.
Again don't take what I said as law just the only argument I found in less than 5 minutes to support me saying "I don't think so"

ewar
15-03-2012, 13:32
I would say not, as the spell is an innate bound item i.e. it can't be destroyed through miscast either and as pointed out, the casket isn't a wizard.

NTJ2010
15-03-2012, 13:35
On that, I thought the casket's spell could be destroyed by miscast. Since the bound spell is bound within an item (although that item is basically the whole model), so when you get IF and a Miscast the spell is broken. (Correct me if I'm wrong but that's how my friend has always played it).

-Totenkopf-
15-03-2012, 13:47
Don't have he rulebook reference, but, innate bound items do not dissolve after a miscast.. That is what makes the casket so awesome... in addition to being a cool model and adding PD ;)

NTJ2010
15-03-2012, 13:51
I guess the problem we had is we were saying the bound spell was bound within the item, the casket, not an innate ability for the model which does seem more likely.

Mike45
15-03-2012, 16:50
Empire has the seal of destruction that says that it works on a bound spell on a roll of 6 instead of a 4+. So its hard to say. Is a bound spell still a spell or would it have to say that it could effect a bound spell.

Akusho6
15-03-2012, 19:07
I guess the problem we had is we were saying the bound spell was bound within the item, the casket, not an innate ability for the model which does seem more likely.

I have played a game against the casket and the TK player miscast it. We counted it as being broken per the rulebook on Bound items that miscast. If the Casket never has to worry about miscasting because it counts as an (innate ability) then what about Queen Khalida's bound spell in her staff, or any other amounts of hero's such as Ikkit Klaw from skaven that also comes with a bound spell on them. For these models including the casket to be able to use their magic missile bound spells with a casting of no more than 5 or 6+ (i forget which the casket is) and NEVER have to worry about miscasting and breaking their bound spell items, then why would the rulebook even mention the rules for miscasting them? The only bound spell I know in the common magic items is the ruby ring ruin which has a bound spell, that can also break. What I understand you guys are saying is that the casket is an exception to the other bound spells, that all the others break besides the casket. If that's so, then what's the distinction. What is the wording that makes the difference between any of the others? TK is too OP for me to play against already, this would be further bad news.

Hell Storm
15-03-2012, 20:21
The difference in bound items depends on where the ability comes from. If it is in a magic item (ruby ring of ruin), then it will break and can't be used. If it comes from a printed special rule on a model (warrior priest from empire), then the only penalty is that model can't cast further bound spells.

EDIT: So the TK casket is printed as saying it is an innate bound spell so it will suffer no ill effects for miscasting.

Akusho6
15-03-2012, 21:16
The difference in bound items depends on where the ability comes from. If it is in a magic item (ruby ring of ruin), then it will break and can't be used. If it comes from a printed special rule on a model (warrior priest from empire), then the only penalty is that model can't cast further bound spells.

EDIT: So the TK casket is printed as saying it is an innate bound spell so it will suffer no ill effects for miscasting.

Thank you for that clarification. I forgot about Emp Priests.
Why would a TK player NOT take a casket every time? they are great. Plus the extra power dice are nice. I am green with envy.

Hell Storm
15-03-2012, 23:23
Because it does take up rare points that could be spent on a heirotitan or screaming skull catapult. Also against certain armies (dwarves, lizardmen), it is considerably less useful.

GodlessM
16-03-2012, 00:30
How is it useless against those armies? Unless they are all within the 12" general bubble they have units that will take a wound or two but more importantly it will start bouncing, not to mention those armies have small pesky units usually outside the bubble that it can easily deal with (war machines, Skinks). At the very least it sinks dispel dice trying to stop it.

White_13oy
16-03-2012, 02:52
Its because of the cold blooded rule and dwarfs naturally high leadership.

Hell Storm
16-03-2012, 11:26
I never said useless, I said less useful. Certain armies are completely decimated if that goes off while others only take a couple of wounds.

warhammero
16-03-2012, 15:06
Is a must have really. I always take it and if the spell doesnt Work the 1D3 dice is always welcome.

Spiney Norman
16-03-2012, 16:49
Thank you for that clarification. I forgot about Emp Priests.
Why would a TK player NOT take a casket every time? they are great. Plus the extra power dice are nice. I am green with envy.

I do take a casket every time, and not because its worth it, more because it is an awesome model, but if you want a reason not to take it, try the points cost.

To be honest it's probably not the most economical unit in terms of points, if you consider that the banner of sorcery in the HE list is 50pts, you're basically paying 85pts for the bound spell, and while light of death is a great spell, I'm not altogether certain its really worth that much.

EldarWonderland
21-03-2012, 12:39
Let's not forget that the thing/unit sent to kill the casket could very well be nuked if the casket dies.

I play against an Orcs n Goblins guy quite regularly and he wets his pants when it's the casket's turn to shine. He got caught a couple of times in the past and so tries to stop it going off.

Win for my other spells and if I get Doom and Darkness off on the few occasions I succumb to using Death then it's a wonder to behold.

Spiney Norman
21-03-2012, 15:52
Let's not forget that the thing/unit sent to kill the casket could very well be nuked if the casket dies.

I play against an Orcs n Goblins guy quite regularly and he wets his pants when it's the casket's turn to shine. He got caught a couple of times in the past and so tries to stop it going off.

Win for my other spells and if I get Doom and Darkness off on the few occasions I succumb to using Death then it's a wonder to behold.

True, and for the record I do love the light of death spell, its certainly better than the entire lore of nehekhara combined, but on the flip side it is ridiculously easy for an enemy to dispel, bear in mind they will be getting +4 (or more) to dispel it in most situations because it is only a bound spell, that means it should be comfortably dispellable on 1D6 less than you use to cast it.

My best casting remains a game against orcs and goblins where I cast the spell on my opponents wyvern warboss, killed the warboss and proceeded to ravage the rest of the army, a 3D6 Ld test on Ld5 Night goblins is not pretty. Most people who experience or watch the casket going off once never allow it to get through again. Unfortunately for us it is very easy to stop unless you do something mental like 6-dice it and get lucky.