PDA

View Full Version : SO Boar Boys: Spears or Additional Hand Weapon?

Oogie boogie boss
20-03-2012, 14:25
The title sums it up really. I'm thinking of adding a small unit of SO Boar Boys to my, thus far, small SO force. I was pondering on how to equip them.
Additional Hand Weapons obviously mean more attacks, and with the Choppa rule they'll get +1 ST in the 1st round, but Frenzy already means they get 2 attacks each, before the Boar, and the opportunity to make them ST 5 on the charge with spears is mighty tempting.
The armies i will mostly be playing are WoC, Brets, Beastmen, Dwarves and Skaven.
So what do people think? More attacks or stronger?

Bladelord
20-03-2012, 14:58
I'd say x2 choppas but keep in mind I have no experience when it comes to O&G, it just feels like the better option:P. It depends what you want them to do.

Malorian
20-03-2012, 17:28
I don't like either option.

In my opinion you are using these guys to wipe out support units, war machines, and maybe add some kills to a flank. Adding punch power is not really needed for the first 2 functions and to be honest doesn't really add that much when attacking a flank. I find it more important to keep more of them alive to get more attacks (especially with the low init).

For this reason I suggest you give shields a thought. Coupled with the boar they then have a respectable 4+ save and 6+ ward and stick toss out a good amount of attacks.

Oogie boogie boss
20-03-2012, 18:09
But surely i'd still get a 4+ 6++ save from the shields even if i was using spears? Obviously, if i took spears i'd also take shields. Bit more expensive, but worth it for the save.

Oogie boogie boss
20-03-2012, 18:10
Also, the only reason i may lean towards spears is the high toughness and armour saves of the armies i most regularly play. Against WoC and Dwarves in particular, the ability to be ST5 on the charge could be important. Still don't know if more attacks is the better option though.....

Malorian
20-03-2012, 18:14