PDA

View Full Version : What to buy first for a Nid army?

Balthazaar
22-03-2012, 12:19
Hi,

Im pretty new to the 40k scene, well ok, if you ask Im a complete virgin. I normally play WHFB and have several armies for that game.

My friend has convinced me to go for a 40k army so we can play that as well. So I have decided to go for Nids. He plays Space Marines (Space Wolves, Dark Angels) and Imperial Guard - I will mainly be playing his IG.

Anyway, I settled for Nids simply because I like the models more than anything and at FB I tend to play a lot of Melee armies (think WO chaos, orcs etc...). I have ordered a Nid Batteforce box to start with as all good things start with the cores, or regulars.

can anyone suggest the what the next few purchases should be? the real essentials I wont be able to do without, at small point levels say 1-1.5k for now?
My budget for my next splurge on figures is around 100 give or take.

Also what should I consider with Nids in terms of tactics, strengths and weaknesses? remember Im a complete virgin at 40k so try not to use Jargon or acronyms please.

Thanks in advance.

sycopat
22-03-2012, 13:19
Hi,

Welcome to 40k land. Be aware, your likely to hear a lot of people complain about how 'Nids are a weak army in the current meta. While this is generally true, it applies only at the competitive level. For friendly fun games, 'nids are fine.

Nids can be built a couple of different ways depending on your preferred style of play. Which I know is a cop out so I'll give some general recommendations, for aggressive armies I like trygons(primes are best) and genestealers with a Hive Tyrant with Hive Commander or the swarmlord to help coordinate their arrival from reserves.