PDA

View Full Version : Farsight Army - practical?

Mahes
29-04-2006, 16:37
Hi guys

Living in the back of beyond I have yet to have a really good look through the new Tau codex....indeed pretty much all the info I have got is from these very forums.

With this in mind I was wondering if you could provide me with some opinions and advise.

I started painting up some Tau models late last year, just for fun, to add to me pretty random mix of minis. I have just been a model collector and painter for a few years now and havent actually played a full scale game of 40k since the 2nd edition.

However, given the number of tau models I now have I thought I might give an army a bash. Having read a bunch of fluff and chosen dark red for the colour scheme I thought I would look into a Farsight Army...however on other forums and from other players it seems to get some less than favorable press.....so I thought I would ask the chaps in the know....thats you btw;)

Thanks in advance for any advise you can offer.

ArtificerArmour
29-04-2006, 16:53
Don't really see what's up with them, to be honest.

Advantages:
Bonded, better in close combat.
A squad of upto 7 battlesuits and farsight.

disadvantages

cant take any kroot/vespids, limited numbers in squads.

There's no real disadvantage, i hardly know anyone who takes more than one hammerhead/stealth suit squad/broadside squads.

Mahes
29-04-2006, 17:02
What about some of the newer squads, like piranhas and sniper drones?

Also, is the cc bonus worth it? I mean the Tau, even with the bonus, are not really meant for the up close and ugly stuff are the?

xibo
29-04-2006, 17:10
Greetings, potencial ally

Commander O'Shovah's battleforce suffers the renegade rule, which sais you have no access to kroot, vespid, dronesquads or ethereals. For more both Crisis AND FireWarrior Squads are 1+ for him... all other units get 0-1 choices.

But he also has advantages over 'loyal' tau armies: