PDA

View Full Version : Dwarf Slayers Question

Shogunate
03-05-2012, 23:40
Hi!

Just a quick one regarding dwarf slayers. I'm new to dwarfs and fantasy, and I find myself confused about this unit.

Their special slayer axes allow them to choose to have either two 1h weapons or a great weapon for a turn, right?

And their special rule allows them to raise their strength to meet their opponents toughness, including any other modifiers such as the great weapon.

The example in the book along with the above rule suggests then that a slayer versus a toughness 6 creature would raise his strength to match. So, strength 3 basic, +2 for great weapon, +1 to match his opponents toughness would make a total of one attack at strength 6.

Would it not by default be the better option to use two 1 handers and be raised to strength 6 with two attacks? Strength 3 basic, + 3 to match opponents toughness, 2 attacks. Or am I misreading the rule? :wtf:

theunwantedbeing
03-05-2012, 23:54
They can pick at the start of the combat.
Yes they work better with 2 hand weapons when facing toughness 6 foes due to the strength cap, the great weapon is for weaker foes where the extra hand weapon doesn't help you.

excessiveswagger
04-05-2012, 06:23
I also had a question about slayers. Giant slayers count as unit champions yes? Does this mean the opponent cannot direct attacks against them unless in a challenge? So if it's a normal fight you could remove troll slayer casualties from the back even if the entire front rank is made of giant slayers (you can upgrade multiple slayers to giant slayers correct?) so you can have an entire front rank who can issue and accept challenges but can't be directly killed until the trollslayers run out?

Munin
04-05-2012, 07:38