PDA

View Full Version : Failed Charge Kills The Unit?



Astal21
08-05-2012, 18:12
139832

Units B&C are fleeing after losing combat to unit A the previous turn.

Unit A charges unit B. B must flee as it is currently fleeing, and flees 2". Unit A redirects it's charge to unit C. Unit C must flee, and flees 12". Unit A rolls 5, 4 for it's charge distance, failing it's charge on unit C. Moving forward it's failed charge distance would bring it into contact with unit B.

Does unit A destroy unit B? Does unit A stop 1" away from unit B? We were a bit confused on what to do here.

Thanks for the help!

-Totenkopf-
08-05-2012, 18:22
PG 58 "Pursuit into Fleeing Foes.
Even if the charged unit was already fleeing, it
still cannot take any charge reactions. Move the
pursuers into contact with it as you would for a
unit completing a charge against a fleeing unit
(see page 23). The fleeing unit is then
immediately destroyed and the pursuing unit is
allowed one final reform."

AntaresCD
08-05-2012, 19:26
Since you redirected onto unit C, the only unit you may move into contact with is unit C. It doesn't matter if B is fleeing and it doesn't matter if your original charge was onto unit B. You stop 1" from unit B if it is blocking your path. Further a failed charge will never bring you into contact with an enemy.

Hell Storm
08-05-2012, 19:31
Um no. You cannot move into contact with an enemy that you didn't charge. Page 22 paragraph 3

sorberec
08-05-2012, 21:03
PG 58 "Pursuit into Fleeing Foes.
Even if the charged unit was already fleeing, it
still cannot take any charge reactions. Move the
pursuers into contact with it as you would for a
unit completing a charge against a fleeing unit
(see page 23). The fleeing unit is then
immediately destroyed and the pursuing unit is
allowed one final reform."

That only applies if you're pursuing/overrunning from combat. The situation the OP describes is charging units that are already fleeing from a previous turn

The bearded one
09-05-2012, 01:39
Moreover, contacting opponents via pursuit counts as though you're making a new charge against that opponent (and then you move into contact via charging rules accordingly (1 wheel, close the door etc.)), but in the case you outlined you're not charging the opponent anymore because you redirected. Thus a pursuit would destroy a fleeing unit (because it works like a charge), while a failed charge against another target, that happens to contact somebody else, does not.