PDA

View Full Version : Devastating Charge question...



Boreas_NL
25-05-2012, 20:16
This afternoon we had a great battle!

However, we had a discussion which we couldn't solve: does all (heavy) cavalry have the Devastating Charge special rule?
According to me (and the special rules section in the BRB) the special rule only applies if it's in the unit's entry in the army book...
According to my opponent (and the part about cavalry in the BRB) all cavalry should benefit from this rule... The text states cavalry are specialist in delivering devastating charges (and gives a couple of examples), I can get that, but Black Knights don't have the rule mentioned in their entry...

Which interpretation is the correct one?

Thanks for your help!

theunwantedbeing
25-05-2012, 20:29
If the special rule doesn't exist in the list, you don't benefit from it.

BlackPawl
25-05-2012, 20:32
The sentence is just in the "fluff" part and is not a rule for all cavalry units in the game.

Jericho
25-05-2012, 20:38
The rule is exceedingly rare. Potion of Foolhardiness is pretty much the only example you're likely to see. It would be nice if more heavy cav units had this, but that's just not the case :)

Boreas_NL
25-05-2012, 20:38
Thanks for the fast response, quite clear if you ask me...

reddevil18
25-05-2012, 21:32
The rule is exceedingly rare. Potion of Foolhardiness is pretty much the only example you're likely to see. It would be nice if more heavy cav units had this, but that's just not the case :)

So fair in fact that without checking the book I don't even know what it does :eyebrows:

bad dice
26-05-2012, 00:48
So fair in fact that without checking the book I don't even know what it does :eyebrows:

it gives +1 attack on the charge

O&G have hero that gives it to spider riders

Dahmon999
26-05-2012, 03:23
Vampire counts wolfs have dev. charge now as well.

Iraf
26-05-2012, 05:22
So a General of the Empire in a regimental unit takes the potion of foolhardiness, gives his whole detachment devastating charge... interesting.

Cortomaltese
26-05-2012, 06:09
So a General of the Empire in a regimental unit takes the potion of foolhardiness, gives his whole detachment devastating charge... interesting.

sadly (?) devastating charge is not one of the seven magic special rules passed by parent units to their detachment..
i could also argue that with the potion just the general would gain the ability, and not the whole unit, but suddenly i realized that probably you weren't that serious.. :D

Iraf
26-05-2012, 06:39
sadly (?) devastating charge is not one of the seven magic special rules passed by parent units to their detachment..
i could also argue that with the potion just the general would gain the ability, and not the whole unit, but suddenly i realized that probably you weren't that serious.. :D

Ah, I didn't even notice that there was a limited list of special abilities that get transferred. Thanks for that.

Askari
26-05-2012, 18:18
Vampire counts wolfs have dev. charge now as well.

No, they have Slavering Charge, an altogether different rule.

AMWOOD co
27-05-2012, 03:13
Slightly related question: who thinks that the spiders in Snagla's unit also benefit from Devastating charge?

hamsterwheel
27-05-2012, 03:30
Slightly related question: who thinks that the spiders in Snagla's unit also benefit from Devastating charge?

I don't see why they wouldn't. The O&G book is very specific in other examples if only the rider or the mount would get the benefit.

theunwantedbeing
27-05-2012, 09:47
Slightly related question: who thinks that the spiders in Snagla's unit also benefit from Devastating charge?

Of course they benefit.
The rule is given to the unit as a whole, not the riders specifically so all parts benefit.