PDA

View Full Version : VC General

Vipoid
03-06-2012, 10:28
I'm not sure if this is a silly question, but can my army include a Wight King (or Krell), if it doesn't also contain either a Vampire Lord (including Vlad and Count Mannfred) or Ghoul King?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but the VC general has to have both the highest Ld in the army (as per the core rules), and also be a caster with Lore of the Vampires (as per the VC rules).

So, let's say I have a Master Necromancer as my only Lord choice, and a Wight King in the same army. I'm not allowed to select the Master Necromancer as my general, since the Wight King has higher leadership, and I'm not allowed to select the Wight King, because he isn't a wizard and so can't have Lore of the Vampires. So, my army can't have a general, and is therefore illegal.

Have I missed something?

maltesefalcon205
03-06-2012, 10:43
You can take your Necromancer Lord as a General choice, it's all in your army book (don't have it handy on me)

T10
03-06-2012, 11:00
This was discussed at length when the VC book first came out. Pretty much two camps:

1. "The general must be one of the characters with the highest Leadership, and among these he has to be a wizard with the Lore of Vampires."

2. "The general must be one of the wizards with the Lore of Vampires, and among these he has to be the fharacter with the highest Leadership."

The conceit here is that you can somehow have an "illegal" army if you have a Ld 9 Wight King and a Ld 7 Necromancer. The fact of the matter is that the Wight King is automatically disqualified from being the general because he isn't a Wizard, somewhat similar to the way a Ld 10 Giant is disqualified because he isn't a character.

Vipoid
03-06-2012, 11:06
You can take your Necromancer Lord as a General choice, it's all in your army book (don't have it handy on me)