View Full Version : Phishing attempt?

09-06-2012, 19:01
I recently got back into hobby and was browsing GW official website for price check on some armies.
After 10min or so, I got a pop up window saying i have won $500 from Games Workshop, with all the logo and stuff, asking for e-mail/phone for me to claim the "gift card.":wtf:
Of course I ignored it but i thought it was odd that such phishing attempt would be made during my visit to GW official website.
Perhaps this could serve as warning for the others? Just thought i should share this incident.;)

09-06-2012, 19:17
Never heard anything like it - I'd fire off a mail to GW support to let them know something might be up though - also I'd do a scan of your comp with your anti-virus software just to be on the safe side.

10-06-2012, 00:39
Check your internet history to see where the URL tracks back to.

10-06-2012, 10:25
Anti virus & malware check. Yesterday.

10-06-2012, 10:29
You get any official response from GW about it?

Lord Dan
10-06-2012, 17:06
Phishing scams are getting easier and easier to spot. Deposed African king wants to give us $1,000,000 for helping him come overseas? Probably too good to be true. Games Workshop wants to give away a gift card for free? Hahahaha. I suppose the military is just handing out nuclear subs these days, too.

Iron Puritan
10-06-2012, 17:38
Free gift card "prizes" are a BIG scam right now. One method being used by scammers is to send out text messages to cell phones with instructions for claiming a prize, much like the popup in the OP.

10-06-2012, 17:55
I did send an email to GW regarding this phishing attempt but no response so far; well it was sent on Friday night.
I will post the response when i get one.

10-06-2012, 18:04
Given that no one else has reported anything like this I'd say it's almost certainly at your end and you need to run anti-virus software urgently.

06-09-2012, 22:06
just had the same thing happen to me. Some tomfoolery if you ask me. Very skeptical

06-09-2012, 23:43
nobody bothers to screencap these things?

07-09-2012, 08:14
This came up a little while ago - I actually thought it was on here, but it might have been on Dakka or BoLS. It's an exploit that usually gets in via browser add-ins / extensions.

07-09-2012, 08:43
Even though it could have all the GW logos, banners and such it's still likely to be on your pc. A virus can pull images from websites you visit and Bodge together adds like this quite easily.

You can normally spot them with a keen eye though, something will just not be quite right like layout, formatting or something similar.

08-09-2012, 11:32
My girlfriend had something similar happen with spam ads turning up in her facebook news feed. Like PointBlank said, it was an extension that was the problem.

06-01-2013, 19:30
It's on your computer. I had it activate for Games Workshop and Download.com in the span of about 20 minutes.

Lord Dan
06-01-2013, 21:10
This thread is over 3 months old, MrGarm13.