PDA

View Full Version : Base contact when models will never allow it?

Murfywat
11-07-2012, 05:52
So I just bought over 80 Mantic Ghouls and Zombies for my new Vampire Counts army, and I put together a few of them. I'm kind of miffed as I now realize its going to be impossible to ever make base contact with any units because of their outstreched arms.

How exactly does this work out in rules? It just scraems of causing issues and headaches. I'm new to fantasy (although I played 40k for years) and I do not recall ever having this issue with 40k. The fact units are so much bigger and tight packed in fantasy makes this even more irritating to me as I really do not know how i'm supposed to work out combats and base contact with my core melee units when their hands are blocking any unit from touching them (even my vampire lord...I'm not sure how i'm supposed to attach him to the unit of ghouls if its awkward, and im pretty sure its a HORRIBLE idea to let your lord walk around alone, not attached to anything so he can get singled out.

Any input on this concern?

mostlyharmless
11-07-2012, 06:50
You think that's bad? Try dealing with cold one knights, not only ranking them, but dealing with frontage with those pointy lances. I can understand the frustration, as the rules of 40k make base contact crucial, and the whole round base thing makes getting into base contact easier. This is not the case in fantasy. There are many units that can't actually be in base contact to the front. In these cases, at least with my own opponents, we slide the models themselves back a little on the movement tray, and use the movement tray to represent the frontage of the unit. Most fantasy players are pretty easy going about this kind of thing, because it's something that we all deal with. Every army has this problem, particularly knights with lances, and infantry with spears.

Eppe
11-07-2012, 06:55