PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here hate theory ?

cornonthecob
15-08-2012, 09:26
I'm a University student and the one thing above all else that makes me frustrated is theory work.

To me it just seem too dry , far to much unnecessary drivel which only a small percentage of the 'community' honestly needs to care or learn about. I look at a wall of text half of which (to me) seems uttery pointless and my heart sinks. Instead of explaining things (admittedly in a 'simple' way) they only cause more clutter and confuse issues more.

EmperorNorton
15-08-2012, 09:29
I absolutely hate it when theory becomes and end in itself and people use phenomena simply to illustrate their theory instead of using theory to explain phenomena.

Avian
15-08-2012, 09:41
Just wait until you enter the Real World, then you will (almost certainly) find that people tend to ignore theory and go with 1) what they intuitively feel is right, 2) old habits, or 3) both 1 & 2.

Novrain
15-08-2012, 10:03
It does depend on the subject matter.

For example I teach theology - Theory, and an understanding of theory, is essential as it structures and makes sense of practical applications. Without the theory, practice becomes sloppy and reduced in meaning.

HereBeDragons
15-08-2012, 10:28
Theory is essential to science. Otherwise all you have is observation, and that alone cannot explain anything. Likewise, theory alone is useless. I happen to enjoy theory.

However it depends what you're doing. I expect linguistic theory is pretty dull if all you want to do is learn a language.

Hellebore
15-08-2012, 10:37
Just wait until you enter the Real World, then you will (almost certainly) find that people tend to ignore theory and go with 1) what they intuitively feel is right, 2) old habits, or 3) both 1 & 2.