PDA

View Full Version : New to 40K, want to build a Death Korps of Krieg army: Need some Advice

Singleton Mosby
25-08-2012, 14:01
For some 13 years I've been playing WHFB but never a single game of 40K. A few days ago I came across some pictures of Death Korps of Krieg minatures and was instantly sold. These models are awesome and I would like to build myself an army very much.

The models I like best and should be included in an army are:

- A Centaur
- The Leman Russ Vanquisher (the trench rail modification and the long gun make this a superb model)
- A Thudd Gun
- Perhaps an Earthshaker gun
- Death Riders
- Heavy Stubber
- Autocannon
- And infantry squads

Now, as I am completely new to 40K there are a lot of questions which follow:

- Which basic rulebooks do I need and is there a Krieg rulebook?
- What is the size of a normal battle/armylist (comparable to 2500 points Fantasy) and thus, how many squads and other units do I need for a good sized game?
- Can anybody suggest a starter armylist so I know what to buy
- Is there a cheaper (re-)seller of FW minis or do they have occasional sales? (FW is quite expensive.....)
- Are there any other models then the ones on the FW site, and are there any regular GW models?
- Is there a dedicated forum for this army or where should I head if I want to know more?

Thanks a lot in advance :)

the1stpip
25-08-2012, 14:14
Well, obviously you will need the Big 40k rulebook. There are FW rulebooks for Krieg, but most of the stuff can be fielded from the Imperial Guard codex.

The normal size of a 40k game is 1500 - 1750 in the UK (and most of Europe), up to 2k in the USA.

And as far as I know, no, there isn't a way of getting the minis cheaper except through ebay if you get lucky.

vladsimpaler
25-08-2012, 16:51
If you want an inexpensive army of DKoK and you don't mind a little extra work....