PDA

View Full Version : Help Chosing an Army

Lord Squidar
29-08-2012, 07:35
Hi Guys,

First off, I must apologise for posting one of these threads, there must be thousands of them, but it seems like we all have a bit of a hard time chosing new stuff.

So I have been playing a truck ton of 40k and i entered a random fantasy tournament over the weekend. Suffice to say, it was an instant injection of renewed love for the game I have been playing since 1998. I thought what better way for a clean start than for a new army. I am suffering chosing on though. I currently have dwarfs and skaven and I realise I am missing out on at least 40 to 50% of the core mechanics of the game, namely magic (or core magic for skaven), cavalry units, monsters for dwarfs (Skaven get HPA which makes people swear so I hardly use it), ridden monsters and fliers. What I am looking for is an army which can do basically everything in the core rule book to some extent. I am not talking about in power terms, mere the choice. That way if I want a cavalry element to my force, I can take it.

Now instantly one thinks of Empire, and I have been scouring the empire forums and even bought one mini (its nicely painted) but I am still unsure of them, they are expensive to collect I am not sure about all the models. I did get a little inspiration from converted araby empire armies, but converting terrifies me since I always end up failing and wasting money. As far as basic humans go, I prefer the brettonian look and style. Brets however, only get a few of the basic lores (beasts and life) and they miss out on the monsters factor. High Elves fit the description I am looking for but I am so sick of seeing high elf armies after the island of blood release I could never own one. So this is where I am stuck!

Other armies I have briefly considered are tomb kings and vampires, but I have no idea on how these armies work with their new rules.