PDA

View Full Version : For the Warmaster! Khorneguy does Pre Heresy - mainly Sons of Horus/ Thousand Sons

Khorneguy
01-10-2012, 19:45
So with the new Forgeworld book, I've decided to fulfill a long-standing hobby dream of mine and collect a Pre-Heresy force

The Sons of Horus are going to be my main pre-heresy force, seeing as they're the legion who drew me into 30k in the first place with the original opening trilogy of the HH novels, but I also have a bunch of Thousand Sons in the works, who I've been working on (very, very slowly) since Games Day 2011, to be used as Grey Knights or with the Chaos 'Dex until they get full 30k rules from Forge World.

I'm going to start, However with the Sons of Horus, as they're the most likely to be fielded in the forseeable future.

With this in mind, I've been trying to find a good colour scheme for them. This a lot harder than it sounds. They're described as having ocean green armour, which is great - when you're imagining it- unfortunately its a very hard colour to translate to a model in a way that looks good

So over the last few weeks I've painted dozens of test models for them, experimenting with different mixes of greys and greens and I've whittled it down to a few of the best. Now I need your opinion: which one (if any) works best? What improvements could be made? Most importantly of all though, do they look like Sons of Horus?

So which is the best?

(I should note that as these are all very different models, in various stages of completion, pay attention to just the green of their armour, rather than any other factors)

1, Eggadon?..

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-bNcGVQ0vWzc/UGhbZMz7zpI/AAAAAAAABHo/Xph2YTBAYOA/s320/DSC00436.JPG

2. Ekyzrie and Tarvuss?...

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-YzLYQoUGdwM/UGhi3UraDNI/AAAAAAAABIk/2scS9ZMpmVQ/s320/DSC00439.JPG

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-pYJLf2BYLz8/UGhbypuCUqI/AAAAAAAABHw/Prf_KNv3aV4/s320/DSC00438.JPG

3. Goldaron?