PDA

View Full Version : Brand new WFB player. Some questions for you vets out there about dwarfs

Cobra.Commander
02-10-2012, 16:24
Hi all, I've been a veteran of 40k for over 14 years now, and I thought it might be a good time to try something different. When I say brand new I mean it. I haven't read the main rulebook or any of the armybooks, but I told myself, if I ever went over to fantasy I would play dwarfs. So basically, I'm just wondering what its like to play these short fellas? I understand they have one of the older codices (excuse me, bad habit) armybooks. Does that matter? Do they provide a lot of strategy, or is there kind of a cut and dry (read: boring) method to playing them (like grey knights for those that play 40k)? What are some of the advantages and disadvantages? I want to stress that I'm going to play them regardless of how good/bad they are, as this is more of a side project than anything. Anyway I look forward to fighting a few battles with bows and blades instead of boltguns and powerswords.

Malorian
02-10-2012, 17:39
There are different ways of playing them and they can be as boring as you want to make them.

They may have an old army book but with so many good warmachine and tons of different units with access to great weapons they do very well. They can also shut down magic phases.

If you want something more interesting look into using the anvil for movement tricks and using miners and scouts. There are also some cool tricks you can play with the master run of challenge and you can basically make a lord for any situation.

I suggest you check these out:

Dwarfs in 8th:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tnurT9KZ5ZQ

Battle reports:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LEujSZDf31Q
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHYJi_KVev8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1vsloIAWL80
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCzePDR_AO4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5CmX9L6dB4

Cobra.Commander
02-10-2012, 17:50
Thank you for the quick reply. You've been very helpful! :)