PDA

View Full Version : Armor Values between Flyers Skimmers, and Tracked APC's

EpicWarGamer
02-10-2012, 17:31
Greetings friends...

I want to know if anyone else is irritated at the fact that the new flyers have heavier armor than an APC? I mean, its bad enough the Chimera is 12/10/10, leaving the struggling Rhino a 11/11/10 is really harsh considering that a FLYER is 12/12/10. I've been playing 40k for 17 years now, and the Vendetta/Valkrie and Stormraven all have better weapons and equipment, and better armor, and you can only hit them on a 6. Again, the only other high armor APCs are SKIMMERS (Tau Devilfish, Eldar Wave Serpent, and Necron Ghost Ark (AV 13? Really?) while a treaded slow vehicle is ... ONLY... AV 11. All LR foolishness aside, the Rhino, due to its Harshell Front, should be 12/11/11. The Chimera should be 12/12/11.

Your thoughts, WS?

EWG

Lord Damocles
02-10-2012, 17:46
Ground vehicles/skimmers are fine.

AV >11 for anything in the air should be rare to non-existant.
It was justifiable for the the Valkyrie/Vendetta (just) when they were skimmers, but as fliers it's crazy-good (and then the FAQ buffed them just a little bit more :rolleyes:)
The Stormraven is even crazier with rear armour 12 (because people can't be a' flankin' me flying brick. That would be unfair).

Lezta
02-10-2012, 21:34
It's bugged me for ages that a rhino has such low armour. Should be 12 all round, IMHO (obviously be more points too)

I think, given the gradual increase in the amount of higher strength weapons over the years that some av values could do with going up.

Venkh
02-10-2012, 21:42
No flyer should have armour of more than 11.

Ground vehicles are ok as they are. GW are baffling at times, they either dont care or dond understand the impact of the rules changes on the game.

Eldar vehicles are made from wraithbone which is super tough, justifying AV12 and besides, look at the points you have to pay for them!

A.T.
02-10-2012, 22:04