PDA

View Full Version : Skaven assassins

x-esiv-4c
12-05-2006, 17:54
Are Skaven Assassins worth their points cost? What gear do you give them in general or is it 100+ points you can throw somewhere else?

Artemis_Quinn
12-05-2006, 18:46
I personally like having a lone assassin when I can spare the points.... they're great skirmisher killers, and great at destroying warmachines when you scout them (and they're a lot easier to scout since they're by themselves).

I've never used them hidden before, but my skaven units never plan on winning unit vs. Unit combat anyways, unless I get 2 units in there.

Personally, I think they'd be more worth it if there weren't so many other options.... like plague priests and Warlock engineers.

but that's just one rat's outlook.

squeekenator
12-05-2006, 20:42
Nup. They're horribly overpriced for what they do, which isn't really that much. For the price of a single decent Assassin, you could get another clanrat unit. I wonder which is more worth your points?

Artemis_Quinn
12-05-2006, 21:58
I'm not saying that assassins couldn't or even shouldn't be cheaper, I'm just saying that they are takable....

As far as worth goes I think that's a hard choice, an extra clanrat unit or an assassin.

Whereas an extra clanrat unit has lots of static CR it's virtually crap. I've stopped even taking commands in my units since I never do anything productive with those units anyways. They just run and hand over VPs....

However, if I just bolstered a pre-existing clanrat unit with an assassin with weeping blades then I challenge when he reveals himself (which makes him go first even when they charge! *evil grin*) thus allowing him to either remove a champion model from the fightand give lots of CR (because even one strike is potentially 3 wounds) or remove a champion from returning attacks and reduce the number of models that can strike the unit.