PDA

View Full Version : 4th Edition Undead/5th Edition VC

Glenn87
08-10-2012, 17:14
Hey guys,
I've been ignoring fantasy for a few months now (new 40K releases and everything), but it's itching again.
Now I fancy older models, and have been thinking about making an army, completely made of 4th-5th Edition models.

Thing is, that most armies have either changed that much (old Orcs look like modern Goblins), or have gotten alot of extra stuff.
So I came with the old Undead models.

Now would I be able to make a decent VC army out of those models? Or would I be better off with Tomb Kings? Or shouldn't I even bother?
(I must say, should there be things that are needed in the army that didn't exist back then, I'll buy them, but I'll try to use old models as much as possible).

Scalebug
08-10-2012, 17:54
Shouldn't be a problem. There are a few items here and there that ended up in in the Tomb Kings list when they split, 13 years ago now, such as chariots, mummies and screaming skull catapults, but most of the original "generic undead" are in the Vampire count army.

And with a bit of creativity, it is really only the catapults that wouldn't find a place in an 8th edition Vampire counts army, as you could do things like Mummies = Grave Guard, Chariots = Black Coache or corpse cart, Carrion = Fell bats.

Size differences is really negligble for most purposes, it is really only when it comes to monsters and such that it matters (what with true line of sight and all), and even then, you can mitigate the differences with some creative basing of the older model, to put it closer to its modern counterparts footprint and silluette.

Go for it. An added bonus with doing an old-school Undead army is that you could probably with a minimum of modifications play it as either list.

Glenn87
08-10-2012, 19:47
Alright,
Hey, a question to the people who've been playing since 4th.
There used to be a HUGE boxed set with a whole 2000pts Undead Army in it.