PDA

View Full Version : Am I too competitive?

PrivateLucky
21-10-2012, 07:08
So I am involved in a local 40k club and play a lot with my friends. They are all chill and cool guys but I am the type of person who likes tactics and strategies, things like denied flank or baiting (usually with a unit of reavers!) and making target priorities or building lists. I have been playing dark eldar almost exclusively for the past 6 months and I have had a great win/loss record although I don't really keep count. But the people I play with are very casual at 40k, they paint a bit, convert a bit, and play a bit. They like getting together and having fun but I think my idea of having fun is having a hard fought game win or lose. And I am not using any cheesy stuff to begin with, there isn't much cheese in the DE codex. I usually run a deathstar squad with drazhar, archon, 8 incubi in a raider (an very expensive unit by the way), some venoms with warriors or wyches, reaver jetbikes, and some assorted heavy support usually ravagers or razorwings. It is, in my opinion, a very balanced list. And very fast, I like fast.

I hate seeing the person on the other side of the table not having fun too. The only thing is I can't see myself taking units I don't like or purposefully doing stupid moves. I feel like that would be insulting to my opponents anyways. I am also not a big rules stickler, only that things are done right. If its 1/8th of an inch for an assault go for it. If you forgot to move something, go ahead. I just ask for leniency for me too because I forget somethings sometimes too.

So I guess my question is, how do I tone it down so I make sure both my opponents have fun and so do I?

Battleworthy Arts
21-10-2012, 07:45
I dunno man, you seem like a great player.

I want my opponent to bring their "A" game, along with a casual attitude.

Maybe help them figure out cool things to fight against your Dark Eldar? Tieing one arm behind your back won't be satisfying for anyone.