PDA

View Full Version : If you could compare the DNA.

Hrw-Amen
01-12-2012, 22:11
I you were able to compare the DNA of Humans, Elves, Orcs, Dwarves, Hobbits would they all share much the same, would they all be able if they choose to mate with and produce viable offspring?

I am assuming that Elves and Orcs would be as we know that Orcs came from tortured and corrupted Elves so are pretty much versions of the same species albeit diverging thousands of years ago.

We also know that Elves and Men are able to produce offspring as there are several examples in the books.

It is kind of hinted at that Orcs and Humans are able to breed and this has been done to produce Uruk Hai type creatures.

So I guess that essentially the biological make up of Humans, Elves and Orcs must be very similar. I'm not a doctor or expert of any sort, just simple speculating here.

What about Hobbits? I get the impression from what I have read that hobbits are little more than a off shoot of men that simply became very small in a similar way to which we have had pigmy type peoples in our own history. As such I assume hobbits would also be able to breed with humans, elves and even Orcs if they so desired.

But what about Dwarves as they had a totally different creation if memory serves? So would they be in any way similar to the other races? They look very similar in so many ways. I am assuming that although they were created before the awakening of Elves that Alue must have had some knowledge of what the races of Elves and Men were going to look like, either that or it was just a lucky guess? Perhaps as he was aware of them Iluvatar was able to guide his hand in ways he did not realise until after they were made.

So what do people think in general, are the races similar enough to all share a common DNA or other biological source?

brain_dead_1st
01-12-2012, 22:28
hmmm, what you do with your free time is private. Thanks ;)

Karak Norn Clansman
02-12-2012, 05:52