PDA

View Full Version : 1500pts First Orcs & Goblins list

Denken
27-12-2012, 04:24
Hi everyone,

I just started a new Orcs & Goblins army and it's my first attempt at making a list.

So I started with 2 battalion boxes and one goblin Shaman, the thing that I didn't own for now will be in green.

Heroes:

Orc Big Boss (124pts)
-Shield
-Boar
-Armour of Fortune
-Gold Sigil Sword

Orc Big Boss BSB (118pts)
-Shield
-BSB
-War Banner

Goblin Shaman (115pts)
-Lvl 2
-Dispel Scroll

Core Unit

30 Orc Boys (245pts)
-Full Command
-Additional Hand Weapon

40 Goblins (190pts)
-Full Command
-Short Bow
-Shield
-3x Nasty Skulker

20 Forest Goblin Spider Riders (320pts)
-Full Command
-Short Bow
-Shield

Special Unit

10 Orc Boar Boys (285pts)
-Full Command
-Spear
-Shield
-Ranger's Standard

Rare Unit

1 Doom Diver Catapult (80pts)

So it brings me to 1477pts...
Any suggestions?

Treg Almighty
27-12-2012, 05:25
Overall, the feel of the list is quite good. You do lack hitting power to deal with the units that your anvils will tie up. Boar boys are ok at that, but you have to pick your battles with them, as anything steadfast will hold them up.

I would take two units of 5 spider riders instead of the big block, or even better, exchange them for wolf riders. To get some hitting power, I would either upgrade the Orc boys to big unz, or if you can find enough points, get a unit of either black orcs, trolls or savage Orc big unz with two hand weapons to give you a badass hammer.

You have the right idea with the unit sizes, so try to keep them the same.

I would also think about splitting the gibbons into two units to maximise shots, or finding some points for another doom diver or rock lobba.

A good thought to have when writing an o and g list is that you want most of your army to punch through units on the first turn of combat. The anvils should be the exception.

Welcome to the green skins!!! Best army by a long shot ;)

Denken
27-12-2012, 17:20
Thanks a lot Treg for your answer!