PDA

View Full Version : Legion of The Damned

Luffwaffle
15-01-2013, 08:07
So I started warhammer 40k about 5 months ago and I've got about 3000 points worth of Imperial Guard models painted. I figured it was time to move on to something a bit more challenging to paint. I've always been a sucker for the Legion of The Damned SM models. I loved the fluff, models, pretty much everything about them, and I would have started my collection with them had it not been for my love of big damn tanks (and guard has plenty of that). Now that I've got some experience I'm thinking about ordering the full Legion of The Damned set from GW. Problem is that rule wise I know nothing abut them. I've never seen anyone use them.

So if someone could give my a simple rundown on how they are played and what their purpose is that would be great. I've been toying with the idea of getting some space marine allies for my guard but I think they are gonna be Blood angels. Would the LOTD be a better choice to help out my Guard, or am I better off just substituting them in for awesome looking blood angels.

Info on any experience you have with the LOTD will be much appreciated.

Minigiant
15-01-2013, 11:53
They are indeed awesome models. They are an elite unit where unfortunately other units do their job better. The best way ive seen them used is to convert up a whole legion of the damned army

So legion of the damned tactical squad, assault squads, sternguard and tanks etc

That way you can have all the fun of all the good space marine stuff and all the astetics of some of your favourite models

Denny
15-01-2013, 12:07
Would the LOTD be a better choice to help out my Guard, or am I better off just substituting them in for awesome looking blood angels.

Blood Angels would probably be stronger.